« HP Enterprise discovers words for IT future | Main | Over time, app management changes its R's »

December 07, 2015

On MPE Chatting, B-Tree Plants and More

How we can chat on the HP 3000 system with the other users who have logged on?

Lars Appel replies:

You can try the TELL and TELLOP commands. For more information see :HELP TELL or :HELP TELLOP.

When I run dbutil.pub.sys, and type the command set MYDB btreemode1=on I get the message “Database root file must be at least “C”4 for SET <db> BTREEMODE1=O." Why can’t I set my btree mode?

Rene Woc replies:

Before you can “set btreemode1,” the database has to have Btrees. You add Btrees with “addindex MYDB for all (or specific master datasets)”. This command will also set root level to C4. To use “addindex” your system needs to be at least on TurboIMAGE version C.07.xx. So how do you find out what version of IMAGE you have? Use the version command in QUERY.

I need to take some groups off of the mirrored drives, and add (move) other groups onto the mirrored drives. Is it as simple to use the altgroup command and specify the volume set?

[Editor’s note: “mirrored drives” is a straw man that has nothing to do with the problem or answer.]

Craig Lalley and John Clogg reply:

It is simple but not that simple. What you need to do is create a temporary group on the target volume set. Copy files in the group you want to move to the temporary group. Delete the source group. Create the new group using

NEWGROUP xxx;homevs=volume_set
NEWGROUP xxx;onvs=volume_set

Note that it is a two-step command. Then rename the files from the temp group to the newgroup. John Clogg also noted that another approach would be to STORE the files, and restore them once the group was relocated. That way you could preserve creation and modification dates, and creator ID.

I have inherited a HP 3000, and I was trying to clean off an old TurboIMAGE database. I did a purge @.data and it purged about 100-plus files. However, it did not purge everything. They can’t be purged, even when logged in as manager.sys. The error that I get is CIERR 45, Privileged File access. I have tried to release it with no luck either. Any suggestions?

Steve Macsisak and Denys Beauchemin reply:

You can purge TurboIMAGE databases using the utility DBUTIL.PUB.SYS and the command PURGE (database name). The database name is the name of the root file, the one without numbers at the end. The command will purge all the datasets of the database. There are a few other ways to do this, but this is the most obvious.

[Editor's Note: Vladimir Volokh reports that if you have several databases, you must run this several times. Using MPEX, you can purge everything, so long as you are a manager of the account. All databases, all non-databases, everything will be purged with purge @.groupname. purge@.data (ispriv) will purge only databases in the group.]

I have two device numbers I don’t want to be in use and assigned to users on the network. LDEVs 5 and 6 are available for use and we don’t want them to be. Is there some place to configure these out of use?

Gilles Schipper replies:

Simply add these devices as network printer devices (id=hptcpjd path=none) in sysgen. This will prevent them from being used by any logon session.

08:33 PM in Hidden Value, Homesteading | Permalink

Bookmark and Share

Use our search engine to find 20 years
of HP 3000 news and articles

Comments

Comments

The comments to this entry are closed.